COVID-19 Update - July 13, 2020


Stage 3 of Reopening

It was announced today that many areas of Ontario will be moving to stage 3 of reopening on Friday, with all other areas remaining in stage 2 for the time being. 

The following public health unit regions will be allowed to move into Stage 3 of reopening, on Friday, July 17, 2020:

    • Algoma Public Health
    • Brant County Health Unit
    • Chatham-Kent Public Health
    • Eastern Ontario Health Unit
    • Grey Bruce Health Unit
    • Haliburton, Kawartha, Pine Ridge District Health Unit
    • Hastings Prince Edward Public Health
    • Huron Perth Public Health
    • Kingston, Frontenac and Lennox & Addington Public Health
    • Leeds Grenville & Lanark District Health Unit
    • Middlesex-London Health Unit
    • North Bay Parry Sound District Health Unit
    • Northwestern Health Unit
    • Ottawa Public Health
    • Peterborough Public Health
    • Porcupine Health Unit
    • Public Health Sudbury & Districts
    • Region of Waterloo Public Health and Emergency Services
    • Renfrew County and District Health Unit
    • Simcoe-Muskoka District Health Unit
    • Southwestern Public Health
    • Thunder Bay District Health Unit
    • Timiskaming Health Unit
    • Wellington-Dufferin-Guelph Public Health

The government announced nearly all businesses and public spaces will reopen in Stage 3 of the province's reopening framework with public health and workplace safety measures and restrictions in place.
As part of the Stage 3 reopening, Ontario will be increasing gathering limits for those regions entering the next stage to the following:

    • Indoor gathering limits will increase to a maximum of 50 people;
    • Outdoor gathering limits will increase to a maximum of 100 people;
    • Gathering limits are subject to physical distancing requirements.

At the beginning of each week, the province will continue to reassess local trends in public health indicators, including rates of transmission, hospital capacity, progress on testing and contact tracing, to determine if additional public health unit regions can progress to Stage 3.


Tags: stage 3, reopening, ontario, covid-19